2013-2014 Officers and Trustees Named

Marketing EDGE Names Eleven New Trustees to Its 2013-2014 Board

New York, NY, Tuesday, June 20, 2013 — Marketing EDGE (formerly the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation / DMEF) has announced the election of 2013-2014 officers, 11 new trustees, two new academic representatives and a number of term renewals and extensions of its Board of Trustees — effective immediately. The terms commenced at the close of its Annual Meeting on June 11, which was held at the offices of Paul Hastings LLP, New York, NY.

2013-2014 Marketing EDGE Officers

Officers joining Craig Wood, head of insights integration at The Futures Company and chair of Marketing EDGE, who took the reins in June 2012 for a two-year term, are: Christine Aguilera, president, SkyMall, as vice chair; Linda Woolley, president and CEO, DMA, as vice chair / DMA; Scott Ellis, VP, Client Solutions, Adworthy, as secretary; Linda Gridley, president and CEO, Gridley & Associates, as treasurer; Kent Johnson, CEO, Highlights for Children, as assistant treasurer; and Terri L. Bartlett, president, Marketing EDGE.

“While changing our name to Marketing EDGE is a very visible, exciting development for this organization, it is a small part of the big changes taking place as we look ahead  and continue to deliver the strategic goals introduced and approved by our board two years ago.  We are working diligently to expand our ability to serve this industry, bringing the best and brightest college students to organizations large and small,” said Board Chair Craig Wood. “Critical to our success is each and every one of our board members, which is why I am particularly proud to introduce the new slate of officers, at-large and academic trustees, and the special Chair’s Advisory Council, whom we will turn to for guidance and direction in the coming year. Before closing, I would like to take this opportunity to thank each of the trustees who are moving off the board … they leave some very big shoes to fill.”


New Board Members

Marketing EDGE Board of Trustees elected the following members for its fiscal 2014 term, which kicks off July 1, 2013:

At-Large Trustees:

  • Brian Cross, Managing Partner, Elasticity
  • Lisa Donnelly, Sr. Director, Broker Relations, Epsilon
  • Nicole Lombardo, Account Supervisor, Kirshenbaum Bond Senecal + Partners
  • Kelly Mangold, SVP, Guideposts
  • Dawn Morris, SVP, Director of Product & Segment Marketing, Citizens Financial Group
  • Dani Nadel, CMO, Scholastic
  • Megan Pagliuca, General Manager & Vice President of Display Media, Merkle
  • Adrea Rubin, CEO, Adrea Rubin Media
  • Dave Scott, Founder and CEO, Marketfish
  • Allison Shaffer, Senior Director of Data Strategy, Demand Generation, Marketing Operations & Analytics, Dell
  • George Thacker, CMO, Nestle / Gerber Life

DMA Representative / At-Large Trustee:

  • Jay Schwedelson, President, Worldata

Academic Representatives:

  • V Kumar, Ph.D., Regents Professor; Richard and Susan Lenny Distinguished Chair & Professor in Marketing; Executive Director, Center for Excellence in Brand and Customer Management; Director, Ph.D. program in Marketing, Georgia State University, J. Mack Robinson College of Business
  • Arvind Rangaswamy, Ph.D., Anchel Professor of Marketing, The Smeal College of Business, Penn State University, who is the 2013 Robert Clarke Award Winner which includes  board service of one year

In addition, the following identifies Board Trustees and their status if affected by the Board vote:

  • Dan Aks, C3 Multimedia (3-year term renewal)
  • Dennis Armbruster, Managing Partner, LoyaltyOne Consulting, LoyaltyOne
  • Michael Becker, Managing Director, North America, Mobile Marketing Association
  • Hal Brierley, Executive Chairman, Brierley+Partners
  • Tim Carr, President, Creative Lift
  • Andrea Derricks, Consultant & Research Lead, L2 Think Tank
  • David Diamond, SVP, Human Resources, dELiA*s (3-year term renewal)
  • Lynn Edmonds, President, LW Robbins Associates
  • James Gauthier, VP, PI Direct Marketing, Travelers
  • Jeff Gundersen, CEO, Executive Connections (3-year term renewal)
  • Warren Hunter, Chair, DMW Direct (3-year term renewal)
  • Ben Isaacson, Privacy & Compliance Leader, Experian (3-year term renewal)
  • Marjorie Kalter, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor, Stern School of Business, New York University
  • Gretchen Littlefield, President, Infogroup | Nonprofit
  • Charlotte Mason, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Department of Marketing, Director, Coca-Cola Center for Marketing Studies, University of Georgia (3-year term renewal)
  • Drew A. May, Integrated Direct Marketing
  • Ingrid McGuire, Director, Direct Marketing & Distribution, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Joseph Pych, CEO, NextMark
  • Michael P. Sherman
  • Christine Slusarek, Wiland Direct
  • Rob Stagno, President, Paradysz
  • Charlie Swift, VP, Strategy & Marketing Operations, Hearst Magazines
  • Markus Wilhelm, Chairman, Paramount Equity
  • Paull Young, Director of Digital, charity: water

The following Board Trustees will retire from the Board effective June 11:

  • Craig Dempster, EVP, CMO, Merkle
  • David Evans, SVP, Broadband, AMC Networks
  • Peter Fader, Ph.D., Professor, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
  • Don Hinman, SVP, Product Development, Data Services, Epsilon Data Management
  • Jay Schwedelson, President, Worldata


About Marketing EDGE

Headquartered in New York City, Marketing EDGE works to Educate, Develop, Grow, and Employ college students in the field of marketing, thereby, expanding and enriching the talent pool of market-ready professionals. In June 2013, in response to the shifts within the marketing field, the organization changed its name from Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF) to Marketing EDGE. The name better reflects how it is serving the dynamic field of marketing; connecting with students, academics, career centers, corporations, and independent professionals; and streaming top talent into the industry.

As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, tax deductible contributions from individuals and corporations are the lifeblood of Marketing EDGE. Today, we are recognized as the only nonprofit organization solely dedicated to students through scholarships, education, career development and job placement, empowering the next generation of marketing leaders. For additional information about Marketing EDGE, its mission and its programs, visit: www.marketingEDGE.org.

Susan Tapllinger

back to press releases