Thursday, October 5, 2017

NEW YORK – Marketing EDGE – the only national nonprofit of its kind solely committed to affect the lives of thousands of students and to shape the marketing industry as diverse, inclusive, and highly skilled – has announced nine new corporate and three academic leaders who will join its Board of Trustees. The organization also named its Board Officers for the coming fiscal year. 
Beginning new three-year terms (unless noted otherwise) in fiscal year 2018 are the following: 
Business representatives:
  • Liberta Abbondante, Senior Vice President, Consumer Marketing, Hearst
  • Amanda Bates, Vice President, Publishing, Media & Entertainment, Telco/Cable, Epsilon 
  • Elizabeth Cornish, Senior Vice President, Development, Connected Talent & Technology, DAS Group of Companies, Omnicom Group 
  • Jim Fosina, Founder and CEO, Fosina Marketing Group 
  • Jonathan Hutcherson, President, Exclamation Labs 
  • Jim Kabakow, CEO, Media Horizons 
  • Drew May, Group Vice President - Sales & Client Services, Acxiom 
  • Carrie Parker, President of Advisory Services, Kantar Futures 
  • Zina Richardson, University Director of Career Services & Professional Development, The City of New York (CUNY)
Academic representatives:
  • Lerzan Aksoy, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Professor of Marketing, Fordham University
  • Marci Armstrong, Ph.D., Brierley Endowed Professor; Director, Brierley Institute for Customer Engagement, SMU Cox School of Business
  • Dhruv Grewal, Ph.D., Toyota Chair in Commerce and Electronic Business, Professor of Marketing, Babson College (one-year term)
Current Board officers for Fiscal Year 2018 include:
  • Chair: Gretchen Littlefield, President, Data Solutions, Infogroup
  • Vice Chair: Harold (Hal) Brierley, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, The Brierley Group
  • Vice Chair/DMA (ex-officio): Tom Benton, Chief Executive Officer, Data & Marketing Association
  • Secretary: Tim Carr, President, LIFT Agency
  • Treasurer: Charlie Swift, Chief Marketing Officer, PubWorx 
  • Assistant Treasurer: Allison Porter, President, Avalon Consulting Group
  • Immediate Past Chair: Christine Aguilera, Chief Financial Officer, International Cruise & Excursions
  • President (ex-officio): Terri L. Bartlett, President, Marketing EDGE 
“At the heart of Marketing EDGE is its Board of Trustees, the corporate and academic professionals who devote time, thought leadership, and funding to support and further our mission,” Chair Gretchen Littlefield said.  “We are very proud to introduce 12 new Board members, selectively chosen for their unique perspective, level of expertise, and demonstrated commitment to Marketing EDGE to create an inclusive, diverse pipeline of highly-skilled talent that will ensure the future of our evolving field.”
Altogether, there are 46 Trustees. Full biographies of each of these leaders – as well as those of existing Board of Trustees members are posted here:
Leaving the Board following their terms of service are:
  • Gary Skidmore, Chief Executive Officer, Aberdeen Group
  • Colleen Sugarman, General Manager, Direct Marketing, Sling TV
  • Dirk van de Bunt, Executive Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer, Guthy-Renker
  • Debra Zahay-Blatz, Ph.D., Professor of Marketing, Marketing & Entrepreneurship Department Chair, St. Edward’s University
About Marketing EDGE
Headquartered in New York City, Marketing EDGE works to Educate, Develop, Grow, and Employ college students in the field of marketing.  Now in its 51st year, Marketing EDGE is the only national 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization with a proven track record that creates a unique intersection between students, academics and corporations to bridge the gap between academic theory and the practical knowledge and skills required in the workplace.  Ultimately, our goal is to continue to expand and enrich the pool of market-ready talent in the ever-expanding business of marketing, today and tomorrow.  For additional information, visit:
#    #    #
Media Contact for Marketing EDGE:
Chet Dalzell