Current & Prior Year Winners-Robert B. Clarke Award

Outstanding Educator Award  |  Shankar-Spiegel Best Dissertation Proposal Award  |  Case Writers

About the Robert B. Clarke Outstanding Educator Award

Marketing EDGE's preeminent award to honor an academic’s overall achievement in marketing, the Outstanding Educator Award is named for the late Robert B. Clarke. As the CEO of Grolier, his personal contribution endowed the Marketing EDGE Summit (then called the Educators’ Conference).

Nominated by their peers, winners are chosen on the basis of outstanding achievement in teaching, writing, research and speaking. Final selection is approved by the Marketing EDGE Board of Trustees. Awarded annually, this honor is named for the late Robert B. Clarke, CEO, Grolier, whose personal contribution endowed the Marketing EDGE Summit.

2017 RECIPIENT: Dhruv Grewal, Babson College


Dhruv Grewal

Dhruv Grewal has more than 30 published articles in Financial Times’ list of 45 business journals – focusing on direct, data and digital marketing, e-commerce, pricing, global marketing, value-based marketing and retailing. He also is one of a handful of marketing scholars to be listed in the prestigious Thomson Reuters Most Influential Researchers and Highly Cited Researchers in the 21st Century. In 2011, he served as conference co-chair for the Marketing EDGE Research Summit. He has garnered numerous awards his teaching, for his research, and Lifetime Achievement Awards from marketing academic societies and universities.

Professor Grewal also has taught executive seminars/courses and/or worked on research projects with numerous firms, such as Dell, TJX, McKinsey, MetLife, AT&T, Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, Sherwin Williams, ExxonMobil and numerous law firms. He has taught seminars in the US, Europe and Asia.

2016 RECIPIENT: Debra Zahay-Blatz, St. Edward's University

Debra Zahay-Blatz

Dr. Debra Zahay-Blatz is a Full Professor of Marketing at St. Edward’s University in Austin, Texas where she is Chair of the Department of Marketing and Entrepreneurship. She teaches digital marketing and social media marketing at the graduate and undergraduate level. Most recently, she coordinated an effort to infuse digital marketing throughout the entire Marketing curriculum, including the creation of a Digital Marketing Minor. She has developed and grown similar programs at several other universities, including ten years at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois.

Prior to academia, Dr. Zahay-Blatz held management positions at several leading firms, including Dun & Bradstreet and Verizon Communications (formerly MCI).


back to top

Clarke Award Recipients

2016 : Dr. Debra Zahay-Blatz, St. Edwards University
2015 : Dr. Charles Hofacker, Florida State University
2014 : Dr. Charlotte Mason, University of Georgia
2013 : Dr. Arvind Rangaswamy, Penn State University
2012 : Dr. George R. Milne, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
2011 : Dr. Donna L. Hoffman, University of California-Riverside
2010 : Dr. V. Kumar, Georgia State University
2009 : Dr. John A. Schibrowsky, University of Nevada Las Vegas
2008 : Dr. Edward C. Malthouse, Northwestern University
2007 : Dr. Peter S. Fader, University of Pennsylvania
2006 : Dr. Venkatesh Shankar, Texas A&M University
2005 : Dr. Lisa Spiller, Christopher Newport University
2004 : Dr. Marjorie Kalter, New York University
2003 : Dr. Russell Winer, New York University
2002 : Dr. John Deighton, Harvard University
2001 : Dr. James Peltier, University of Wisconsin - Whitewater
2000 : Dr. Goutam Chakraborty, Oklahoma State University
1999 : Dr. Joseph E. Phelps, The University of Alabama
1998 : Dr. Denise Schoenbachler, Northern Illinois University
1997 : Susan K. Jones, Ferris State University
1996 : Dr. J. Steven Kelly, DePaul University
1995 : Dr. Paul Wang, Northwestern University
1994 : Dr. Richard Hamilton, University of Missouri - Kansas City
1993 : Dr. Harold Teer, James Madison University
1992 : Dr. Denny McCorkle, University of Northern Colorado
1991 : Dr. F. Robert Dwyer, University of Cincinnati
1990 : Dr. Robert Blattberg, Northwestern University
1989 : Dr. Don Schultz, Northwestern University

back to top


Marketing EDGE Summit Home